Specific Healthy Treats Mini

Treat · complementary

This is sold as a treat, not as an everyday meal. The 1–100 rating applies to complete meals, so it isn't scored. Ingredient breakdown below.

Our verdict

Is Specific Healthy Treats Mini a good dog food?

This is a treat, not a complete diet, so it is not scored on our 1-100 scale. The ingredient breakdown below shows what is in it; a treat should be fed alongside, not instead of, a complete diet.

Complementary treats for dogs of all life stages, with wheat, fish meal and maize gluten as the main ingredients.

How we score

Only part of the analytical constituents are declared, so the nutritional picture is incomplete.

98% of this recipe has no printed percentage. Estimated shares are model estimates, not label facts.

Why you might choose it

  • Low in fat for its format: 4% fat on a dry-matter basis.
  • Declares energy content, which most labels omit.

Why you might not

  • A treat, not a complete diet: feed as an extra, not the whole diet.
  • 4 poor-graded ingredients make up about 24% of the recipe.
  • 98% of the recipe mass has no printed percentage, so the exact split cannot be verified.

Who is this food for?

Suits

  • Labelled by the manufacturer for all lifestages
  • Labelling or feeding guide is aimed at small dogs
  • Doesn't list chicken, beef, turkey, lamb, venison, pork, duck as ingredients

Consider something else if:

  • Your dog avoids fish: the label lists fish meal
  • Your dog avoids grain: the label lists wheat

These points are derived from declared ingredients and analysis, not a substitute for veterinary advice. If your dog has a diagnosed condition, food choice is a medical nutrition decision: speak to your vet. Find foods that fit your dog.

What the label tells us

  • The label lists 19 ingredients.
  • Names its animal sources (1 named ingredient).
  • Uses generic terms (Fish Meal, Hydrolysed Animal Protein): the specific animal source is not stated.
  • Lists no artificial colours or preservatives.
  • Prints quantities for 1 ingredient.
Why is this treat not scored?

Our 1 to 100 rating applies to complete diets, so treats and complementary foods are presented as what the label tells us rather than a number that would invite comparison with complete meals.

What should I look for on a treat label?

A short ingredient list, named animal sources instead of generic terms, and no artificial colours or preservatives. Printed quantities are a good transparency signal, though few treat labels provide them.

These points are derived from the published ingredient list, not a rating.

Nutrition and feedingProtein 22% · Fat 3.50%

Typical analysis (as fed)

NutrientAs fed
Protein22%
Fat3.50%
Fibre4.20%
Moisture8.50%
Carbohydrates52.80%
Omega-3 fatty acids0.41%
Calcium1.23%
Phosphorus1.23%
Sodium0.87%

Energy: 309 kcal/100g

Additives & feeding info

Feeding and storage

Feeding guide

3-5 g per 10 kg body weight daily; reduce daily food ration accordingly

Additives declared on the label

Nutritional additives

Vitamins and trace elements (amounts not specified)

Ingredients (19)98% of the recipe is estimated

Estimated composition

  • supplement 34.1%
  • meat 18.8%
  • carb 13.9%
  • veg 13.5%
  • fibre 12.5%
  • oil 5.3%
  • additive 2.0%
#As declaredMatchedLabel readingDeclared %Est. %
1WheatWheatcarb · poor-7.1
2Fish MealFish Mealmeat · medium-6.9
3Maize ProteinMaize glutencarb · poor-6.7
4Beet PulpBeet Pulpfibre · medium-6.5
5MineralsVitamins and mineralssupplement · medium-6.3
62% HexametaphosphateSodium hexametaphosphateadditive · medium22.0
7Animal Protein HydrolysateHydrolysed Animal Proteinmeat · medium-6.1
8Cellulose PowderPowdered Cellulosefibre · poor-5.9
9Egg PowderDried Whole Eggmeat · good-5.7
10Vitamins and Trace ElementsVitaminsupplement · good-5.5
11Fish OilFish Oiloil · good-5.3
12Green Tea ExtractGreen Teaveg · good-5.1
13Pomegranate ExtractPomegranateveg · good-4.9
14Cranberry ExtractCranberry Extractsupplement · good-4.8
15Parsley PowderParsleyveg · good-4.6
16Eucalyptus OilEucalyptussupplement · poor-4.4
17MethionineMethioninesupplement · good-4.2
18ThreonineThreoninesupplement · medium-4.0
19Rosemary Extract.Rosemaryveg · good-3.8
  1. 1. Wheat7.1% estimated
    Wheat · carb · poor
  2. 2. Fish Meal6.9% estimated
    Fish Meal · meat · medium
  3. 3. Maize Protein6.7% estimated
    Maize gluten · carb · poor
  4. 4. Beet Pulp6.5% estimated
    Beet Pulp · fibre · medium
  5. 5. Minerals6.3% estimated
    Vitamins and minerals · supplement · medium
  6. 6. 2% Hexametaphosphate2% declared2.0% estimated
    Sodium hexametaphosphate · additive · medium
  7. 7. Animal Protein Hydrolysate6.1% estimated
    Hydrolysed Animal Protein · meat · medium
  8. 8. Cellulose Powder5.9% estimated
    Powdered Cellulose · fibre · poor
  9. 9. Egg Powder5.7% estimated
    Dried Whole Egg · meat · good
  10. 10. Vitamins and Trace Elements5.5% estimated
    Vitamin · supplement · good
  11. 11. Fish Oil5.3% estimated
    Fish Oil · oil · good
  12. 12. Green Tea Extract5.1% estimated
    Green Tea · veg · good
  13. 13. Pomegranate Extract4.9% estimated
    Pomegranate · veg · good
  14. 14. Cranberry Extract4.8% estimated
    Cranberry Extract · supplement · good
  15. 15. Parsley Powder4.6% estimated
    Parsley · veg · good
  16. 16. Eucalyptus Oil4.4% estimated
    Eucalyptus · supplement · poor
  17. 17. Methionine4.2% estimated
    Methionine · supplement · good
  18. 18. Threonine4.0% estimated
    Threonine · supplement · medium
  19. 19. Rosemary Extract.3.8% estimated
    Rosemary · veg · good

Trust and sourceNo recalls recorded in our database · checked 2026-09-14

Brand and contact: Specific

Trust and provenance

Recall history
No recalls recorded in our database
Label data last checked
2026-09-14

Recall history is presentation-only and never affects the score. Dates are when we recorded the data, not when the manufacturer last changed the recipe.

Spotted a mistake in this listing? Report it here and we'll take a look.

Score details and methodologyCalculations, history and evidence

Recipe: how the 1-100 score is calculated

Scored with model v3 on 2026-10-25. Each component is the feature value for this product multiplied by the model's published coefficient.

ComponentInputCoefficientContribution
Base score-30.909+30.91
Average ingredient quality0.39.191+2.70
Carb share of dry matter14.4%-0.115-1.66
Oil share of dry matter6.3%-0.092-0.58
Vegetable share of dry matter6.4%-0.005-0.03
Additive share of dry matter2.1%0.163+0.35
Supplement share of dry matter37.0%-0.012-0.45
Recipe graded poor24.2%-0.065-1.57
Number of poor ingredients4-0.876-3.50
Largest single poor ingredient7.1%0.060+0.43
Undeclared quantities98.0%-0.106-10.35
Low meat (under 10% of dry matter)yes-3.158-3.16
Additive penalty-2.400.222-0.53
Processing multiplier0.9833.786+33.11
Processing: Dry Extrudedyes-6.713-6.71
Show all 40 components
ComponentInputCoefficientContribution
Base score-30.909+30.91
Average ingredient quality0.39.191+2.70
Meat share of dry matter0.0%0.096+0.00
Carb share of dry matter14.4%-0.115-1.66
Oil share of dry matter6.3%-0.092-0.58
Vegetable share of dry matter6.4%-0.005-0.03
Additive share of dry matter2.1%0.163+0.35
Supplement share of dry matter37.0%-0.012-0.45
Other share of dry matter0.0%-0.375+0.00
Unrecognised share of dry matter0.0%-0.027+0.00
Recipe graded poor24.2%-0.065-1.57
Poor-quality meat in recipe0.0%-0.179+0.00
Number of poor ingredients4-0.876-3.50
Largest single poor ingredient7.1%0.060+0.43
Undeclared quantities98.0%-0.106-10.35
Prints ingredient percentagesno0.000+0.00
Complete dietno2.294+0.00
Frozen or chilled freshno0.000+0.00
High meat (30%+ of dry matter)no0.707+0.00
Low meat (under 10% of dry matter)yes-3.158-3.16
High carb and low meatno-1.180+0.00
Meat share × printed percentages0.00.000+0.00
Meat share × fresh0.00.000+0.00
Fresh × high meat0.011.084+0.00
Additive penalty-2.400.222-0.53
Processing multiplier0.9833.786+33.11
Processing: Rawno-0.054+0.00
Processing: Fresh Chilledno-2.354+0.00
Processing: Fresh Frozenno-2.354+0.00
Processing: Fresh Refrigeratedno0.000+0.00
Processing: Fresh Shelfno-0.672+0.00
Processing: Dry Freeze Driedno6.629+0.00
Processing: Dry Air Driedno6.331+0.00
Processing: Dry Cold Pressedno-6.713+0.00
Processing: Dry Bakedno-6.713+0.00
Processing: Dry Extrudedyes-6.713-6.71
Processing: Dry Semi Moistno-6.174+0.00
Processing: Dry Mueslino-10.146+0.00
Processing: Wet Pateno-0.672+0.00
Processing: Wet Chunksno-0.672+0.00
Processing-type offset
+0.02
Additives declared on label
+1 transparency bonus
Subtotal
40.0
Final score
40/100

Contributions are rounded to two decimals, so they may not sum exactly to the subtotal. The full coefficient table is published on the methodology page.

This is not a complete diet, so the 1-100 rating does not apply to it. Read the recipe breakdown above as ingredient-quality context only.

Score history across model versions

The score shown above is always computed with the latest published model. Earlier scores are kept for the record and are never edited or deleted; a scoring change ships as a new model version with a public write-up on the methodology page.

ModelScore
v340/100current
v248/100
Nutritional: declared analysis vs reference ranges

Not applicable to complementary food. FEDIAF reference ranges apply to complete diets.

Transparency: what the label discloses

How much the manufacturer discloses, measured against the FEDIAF Code of Good Labelling Practice and Regulation 767/2009. Mandatory items dominate the weighting.

ItemPoints
✓ Ingredient list on the label (mandatory)10/10
✓ Printed percentages on the label (2% of the recipe mass) (voluntary)0.4/20
✗ Analytical constituents declared (mandatory) - not on file0/15
✓ Additives declared (mandatory)5/10
✓ Energy value declared (voluntary)5/5
✓ Complete/complementary designation (mandatory)5/5
✓ Feeding guidance given (mandatory)10/10
✓ Manufacturer identity and address (mandatory)5/10
✓ Country of manufacture stated (voluntary)10/10
✗ Batch and date labelling (mandatory) - not on file0/5

Capped at 60: mandatory items missing (Analytical constituents declared, Batch and date labelling).

Safety: recall history

Recall and safety-notice history, time-decayed. This dimension is shown alongside the score and never feeds the headline number.

No recalls recorded in our database.

See all current recalls we track.

Evidence: what the brand claims, and what supports it

The claims made on the pack and product page, checked against the declared label. We record claims as stated; "consistent" means our stored label data supports the claim, "contradicted" means it conflicts with it. Functional claims are recorded but never scored.

Claims on file; none we can check against the label

ClaimTypeCheckSubstantiation
With added ingredients to support dental health (on page)Functionalnot checkableManufacturer assertion
Contains ingredients to support dental health by reducing plaque and tartar through binding of calcium in saliva, which prevents calcification of plaque (on page)Functionalnot checkableManufacturer assertion
Support of fresh breath with green tea extract, eucalyptus oil and parsley powder (on page)Functionalnot checkableManufacturer assertion
With natural antioxidants (tocopherols and vitamin C) (on page)Contentnot checkableManufacturer assertion
Treats contain no artificial colours or flavourings (on page)Free-fromnot checkableManufacturer assertion
Low in fat and energy and high fibre (on page)Contentnot checkableManufacturer assertion

The full scoring method is published. See the methodology for exactly how the headline score and each dimension are calculated.

See all products from Specific

Community0 comments

Owners' verdict
0 votes

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to share how this went down with your dog.

Comments are reviewed before they appear.