Natures Harvest Hand-Baked Grain Free Cookie

Treat · complementaryClear label

Hand-Baked Grain Free Cookie
This is sold as a treat, not as an everyday meal. The 1–100 rating applies to complete meals, so it isn't scored. Ingredient breakdown below.

Our verdict

Is Natures Harvest Hand-Baked Grain Free Cookie a good dog food?

This is a treat, not a complete diet, so it is not scored on our 1-100 scale. The ingredient breakdown below shows what is in it; a treat should be fed alongside, not instead of, a complete diet.

Complementary treats for dogs of all life stages, with pea flour, gram flour and peanut butter as the main ingredients.

How we score

Only part of the analytical constituents are declared, so the nutritional picture is incomplete.

62% of this recipe has no printed percentage. Estimated shares are model estimates, not label facts.

Why you might choose it

  • Prints ingredient percentages on the label.
  • Doesn't list grain ingredients.

Why you might not

  • A treat, not a complete diet: feed as an extra, not the whole diet.
  • Low in protein: 19% protein on a dry-matter basis.

Who is this food for?

Suits

  • Labelled by the manufacturer for all lifestages
  • Grain-free: no grain ingredients listed
  • Doesn't list beef, turkey, lamb, venison, pork, duck as ingredients

Consider something else if:

  • Your dog avoids chicken: the label lists chicken oil and fat
  • Your dog avoids fish: the label lists ocean fish
  • You want a single-protein recipe: this one lists more than one animal protein
  • You need more protein than this: 18.7% on a dry-matter basis is in the low band

These points are derived from declared ingredients and analysis, not a substitute for veterinary advice. If your dog has a diagnosed condition, food choice is a medical nutrition decision: speak to your vet. Find foods that fit your dog.

What the label tells us

  • The label lists 18 ingredients.
  • Names its animal sources (2 named ingredients).
  • Uses generic terms (Ocean Fish): the specific animal source is not stated.
  • Lists no artificial colours or preservatives.
  • Prints quantities for 5 ingredients.
Why is this treat not scored?

Our 1 to 100 rating applies to complete diets, so treats and complementary foods are presented as what the label tells us rather than a number that would invite comparison with complete meals.

What should I look for on a treat label?

A short ingredient list, named animal sources instead of generic terms, and no artificial colours or preservatives. Printed quantities are a good transparency signal, though few treat labels provide them.

These points are derived from the published ingredient list, not a rating.

Nutrition and feedingProtein 18.70% · Fat 12.10%

Typical analysis (as fed)

NutrientAs fed
Protein18.70%
Fat12.10%
Fibre6.90%
Ash2.80%

Additives & feeding info

Feeding and storage

Storage

not stated

No additives recorded yet.

Ingredients (18)62% of the recipe is estimated

Estimated composition

  • carb 35.7%
  • veg 23.0%
  • meat 22.0%
  • oil 12.8%
  • other 6.5%
#As declaredMatchedLabel readingDeclared %Est. %
1Nutbutter & Blueberry: Pea FlourPea flourcarb · medium-6.2
2Gram FlourGram flourcarb · good-5.9
3Peanut Butter (9%)Peanut Butterveg · medium99.0
4Fresh Blueberries (5%)Blueberriesveg · good55.0
5LinseedLinseedveg · good-5.7
6Cheese: Pea FlourPea flourcarb · medium-5.4
7Gram FlourGram flourcarb · good-5.2
8Dried Cheese (6.5%)Cheeseother · medium6.56.5
9Rapeseed OilRapeseed oiloil · good-5.0
10Liver: Pea FlourPea flourcarb · medium-4.7
11Gram FlourGram flourcarb · good-4.5
12Chicken FatChicken Oil and Fatoil · good-4.3
13Dried Chicken Liver (4%)Livermeat · good44.0
14Ocean Fish: Pea FlourOcean Fishmeat · medium-4.0
15Gram FlourGram flourcarb · good-3.8
16Dried White Fish (14%)White Fishmeat · good1414.0
17Rapeseed OilRapeseed oiloil · good-3.5
18SeaweedSeaweedveg · good-3.3
  1. 1. Nutbutter & Blueberry: Pea Flour6.2% estimated
    Pea flour · carb · medium
  2. 2. Gram Flour5.9% estimated
    Gram flour · carb · good
  3. 3. Peanut Butter (9%)9% declared9.0% estimated
    Peanut Butter · veg · medium
  4. 4. Fresh Blueberries (5%)5% declared5.0% estimated
    Blueberries · veg · good
  5. 5. Linseed5.7% estimated
    Linseed · veg · good
  6. 6. Cheese: Pea Flour5.4% estimated
    Pea flour · carb · medium
  7. 7. Gram Flour5.2% estimated
    Gram flour · carb · good
  8. 8. Dried Cheese (6.5%)6.5% declared6.5% estimated
    Cheese · other · medium
  9. 9. Rapeseed Oil5.0% estimated
    Rapeseed oil · oil · good
  10. 10. Liver: Pea Flour4.7% estimated
    Pea flour · carb · medium
  11. 11. Gram Flour4.5% estimated
    Gram flour · carb · good
  12. 12. Chicken Fat4.3% estimated
    Chicken Oil and Fat · oil · good
  13. 13. Dried Chicken Liver (4%)4% declared4.0% estimated
    Liver · meat · good
  14. 14. Ocean Fish: Pea Flour4.0% estimated
    Ocean Fish · meat · medium
  15. 15. Gram Flour3.8% estimated
    Gram flour · carb · good
  16. 16. Dried White Fish (14%)14% declared14.0% estimated
    White Fish · meat · good
  17. 17. Rapeseed Oil3.5% estimated
    Rapeseed oil · oil · good
  18. 18. Seaweed3.3% estimated
    Seaweed · veg · good

Trust and sourceNo recalls recorded in our database · checked 2026-09-14

Brand and contact: Natures Harvest
Natures Harvest logo
Address
Unit 1 The Old Corn Store, Alma Road, Lindfield, West Sussex, RH16 2HW

Trust and provenance

Recall history
No recalls recorded in our database
Label data last checked
2026-09-14

Recall history is presentation-only and never affects the score. Dates are when we recorded the data, not when the manufacturer last changed the recipe.

Spotted a mistake in this listing? Report it here and we'll take a look.

Score details and methodologyCalculations, history and evidence

Recipe: how the 1-100 score is calculated

Scored with model v3 on 2026-10-25. Each component is the feature value for this product multiplied by the model's published coefficient.

ComponentInputCoefficientContribution
Base score-30.909+30.91
Average ingredient quality0.79.191+6.86
Meat share of dry matter21.1%0.096+2.03
Carb share of dry matter41.0%-0.115-4.71
Oil share of dry matter16.1%-0.092-1.48
Vegetable share of dry matter13.0%-0.005-0.07
Other share of dry matter4.1%-0.375-1.55
Undeclared quantities61.5%-0.106-6.49
Processing multiplier0.9833.786+33.11
Processing: Dry Extrudedyes-6.713-6.71
Show all 40 components
ComponentInputCoefficientContribution
Base score-30.909+30.91
Average ingredient quality0.79.191+6.86
Meat share of dry matter21.1%0.096+2.03
Carb share of dry matter41.0%-0.115-4.71
Oil share of dry matter16.1%-0.092-1.48
Vegetable share of dry matter13.0%-0.005-0.07
Additive share of dry matter0.0%0.163+0.00
Supplement share of dry matter0.0%-0.012+0.00
Other share of dry matter4.1%-0.375-1.55
Unrecognised share of dry matter0.0%-0.027+0.00
Recipe graded poor0.0%-0.065+0.00
Poor-quality meat in recipe0.0%-0.179+0.00
Number of poor ingredients0-0.876+0.00
Largest single poor ingredient0.0%0.060+0.00
Undeclared quantities61.5%-0.106-6.49
Prints ingredient percentagesno0.000+0.00
Complete dietno2.294+0.00
Frozen or chilled freshno0.000+0.00
High meat (30%+ of dry matter)no0.707+0.00
Low meat (under 10% of dry matter)no-3.158+0.00
High carb and low meatno-1.180+0.00
Meat share × printed percentages0.00.000+0.00
Meat share × fresh0.00.000+0.00
Fresh × high meat0.011.084+0.00
Additive penalty0.000.222+0.00
Processing multiplier0.9833.786+33.11
Processing: Rawno-0.054+0.00
Processing: Fresh Chilledno-2.354+0.00
Processing: Fresh Frozenno-2.354+0.00
Processing: Fresh Refrigeratedno0.000+0.00
Processing: Fresh Shelfno-0.672+0.00
Processing: Dry Freeze Driedno6.629+0.00
Processing: Dry Air Driedno6.331+0.00
Processing: Dry Cold Pressedno-6.713+0.00
Processing: Dry Bakedno-6.713+0.00
Processing: Dry Extrudedyes-6.713-6.71
Processing: Dry Semi Moistno-6.174+0.00
Processing: Dry Mueslino-10.146+0.00
Processing: Wet Pateno-0.672+0.00
Processing: Wet Chunksno-0.672+0.00
Processing-type offset
+0.02
Subtotal
51.9
Final score
52/100

Contributions are rounded to two decimals, so they may not sum exactly to the subtotal. The full coefficient table is published on the methodology page.

This is not a complete diet, so the 1-100 rating does not apply to it. Read the recipe breakdown above as ingredient-quality context only.

Score history across model versions

The score shown above is always computed with the latest published model. Earlier scores are kept for the record and are never edited or deleted; a scoring change ships as a new model version with a public write-up on the methodology page.

ModelScore
v352/100current
v261/100
v162/100
v1.964/100
Nutritional: declared analysis vs reference ranges

Not applicable to complementary food. FEDIAF reference ranges apply to complete diets.

Transparency: what the label discloses

How much the manufacturer discloses, measured against the FEDIAF Code of Good Labelling Practice and Regulation 767/2009. Mandatory items dominate the weighting.

ItemPoints
✓ Ingredient list on the label (mandatory)10/10
✓ Printed percentages on the label (38.5% of the recipe mass) (voluntary)7.7/20
✗ Analytical constituents declared (mandatory) - not on file0/15
✗ Additives declared (mandatory) - not on file0/10
✗ Energy value declared (voluntary) - not on file0/5
✓ Complete/complementary designation (mandatory)5/5
✗ Feeding guidance given (mandatory) - not on file0/10
✓ Manufacturer identity and address (mandatory)10/10
✓ Country of manufacture stated (voluntary)10/10
✗ Batch and date labelling (mandatory) - not on file0/5

Capped at 60: mandatory items missing (Analytical constituents declared, Additives declared, Feeding guidance given, Batch and date labelling).

Safety: recall history

Recall and safety-notice history, time-decayed. This dimension is shown alongside the score and never feeds the headline number.

No recalls recorded in our database.

See all current recalls we track.

Evidence: what the brand claims, and what supports it

The claims made on the pack and product page, checked against the declared label. We record claims as stated; "consistent" means our stored label data supports the claim, "contradicted" means it conflicts with it. Functional claims are recorded but never scored.

100/100 · moderate — 1 checkable claim: 1 consistent, 0 contradicted.

Consistent with the label

  • "grain-free" — supported by the declared grain-free data.

1 further claim on file that we cannot check against the label.

Moderate: every checkable claim is consistent with the declared label.

ClaimTypeCheckSubstantiation
grain-free (on page)Free-fromconsistentManufacturer assertion
Wholesome Ingredients: Packed with natural goodness for guilt-free treating. (on page)Contentnot checkableManufacturer assertion

The full scoring method is published. See the methodology for exactly how the headline score and each dimension are calculated.

See all products from Natures Harvest

Community0 comments

Owners' verdict
0 votes

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to share how this went down with your dog.

Comments are reviewed before they appear.